top of page
  • Writer's picturelorenaga2005

Contribution to Learning Community


“Talents wings games, but teamwork and intelligence win championships”

-Michael Jordan

Grades:

5302: 45/50

5305: 92/100


My adventure in the ADL (Applied Digital Learning) program began with 5302 and 5305. I was out of school for over 20 years and felt anxious when I started this program. I know my weaknesses and strengths, and one of my challenges was studying online because I lack technological skills. Constructivism is part of my academic instruction, and when Dr. H introduced the COVA + CSLE approach, I felt excited, but at the same time, I had a lot of work to do. Another of my challenges was to activate the habit of reading; it has been challenging but not impossible. I remember the first zoom class feeling sick from anxiety, fear, and nerves. I remember that "please don't ask me anything directly" went through my mind.

When Dr. H told us to make groups, I froze. But I thought, how can I be part of a team? so I posted in the student lounge of each class that if someone wanted to team up with me, they would send me a message on my cell phone. The first to respond was Deena, and she suggested using the GroupMe app, and she created the group and taught me how to use it and add more friends. My team in class 5302:


  • Jose Velarde

  • Dawn Short

  • Deena Boland

  • Lorena Rodriguez



My team in class 5305:

  • Deena Boland

  • Elda Mancha

  • Erika Montroy

  • Erika Robey

  • Lorena Rodriguez




Jose sent the meeting link through blackboard (messages), and we met on Sundays at 7 pm through the GoTo application. And we also maintained communication through GroupMe when we had doubts, and we sent each other the works to give feedback. I am pleased with my two groups. I have learned a lot from them.






Key Contributions:

  • Every day I checked GroupMe, blackboard messages, emails to share discussions and help my colleagues.

  • I frequently gave feedback to my peers respectfully and constructively.

  • I read and reflected on all the feedback I received about my work.

  • I made the corrections that I received from my teachers made to me in the revised papers.

  • I have attended almost all the sessions of the two classes, and if I was absent, I waited for the teacher to send the recording link, and I looked at it to make my class notes.

  • I read all the required readings, watched each class's videos, and researched and reviewed other sources outside of the course suggestions.

  • Submit all my papers on time for the two subjects, 5302 and 5305.

  • I reviewed all the discussions and responded to all the feedback I received.

  • I also gave at least three feedbacks to different colleagues in the discussion forum.

  • I have shared and learned with my work team and my sister, writing about using technology in mathematics, specifically multiplication tables.

Supporting contributions:

  • Regularly during these eight weeks, we had conferences through the GoTo app. We were also in contact daily through GroupMe, where we discussed some readings and clarified doubts regarding the works. We were in constant communication and gave each other support.


Areas to improve:

  • Start reading the readings from before the first class.

  • During the first week, read as much as possible and write essential points.

  • Have the discussions one day before each class.

  • Begin to create the drafts of each work and thus have time to be modified.

  • During the course, ask questions.

  • Do my tasks at least five days before the due date to share them with my colleagues and receive feedback and modify the work.

  • I need to improve my APA citation form.


These two classes have been challenging for me; changing from a fixed mindset to a growth mindset has not been easy, and I am still struggling with my mind. Innovating a project has not been as easy for me as a human being educated with a fixed mindset. With the help of my classmates and the teacher, I have been able to activate my dormant creativity.



Collaboration and teamwork have been excellent learning. I have enjoyed being in communication with my colleagues and sharing ideas, frustrations, fears, and they made me feel that together we can grow.


Thanks, team!!!





References

Harapnuik, D. (2021). It is About learning: Contributions. Assessment OF/FOR/AS Learning. Retrieved from: Search Results For contributions | 14 Results | It's About Learning (harapnuik.org)



35 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page